Let's work together on intermedia projects!


After more than fifteen years of artistic activities in the field of performing arts (music, theatre, contemporary dance) listed above in "lighting design" or "sound design", I now aspire to explore the possibilities of interconnecting disciplines and technologies within transversal artistic proposals, as well as through my own project Nola's key.


Feel free to tell me about your projects, I will be happy to answer you and why not, to share with you both my artistic sensibility and a unique combination of technical knowledge acquired over the years, encounters and experiences.


                                                                                                              Cheers !

                                                                                                              Nicolas

LIGHTING DESIGN

New Nola's key.png

Short bio

Nicolas Bazoge is an intermedia designer for the performing arts.

In parallel to his collaborations in dance, theatre and music as a lighting designer and scenographer, he develops his own artistic projects in the field of interactive musical performance.


His research focuses on questions of hybridization in contexts of technologically mediated stage performance. His activities are dedicated to the creation of immersive, interactive and semi-improvised experiences through specifically developed devices based on innovative technologies such as optical motion capture or pixel mapping.

Long bio

After graduating in 2004 from the Institut Supérieur des Techniques du Spectacle (ISTS) in Avignon, Nicolas joined the following year the team of the Centre Dramatique National de Bretagne in Lorient where he worked for 12 years as a lighting director and lighting assistant for numerous directors (Éric Vigner, Arthur Nauziciel, Madeleine Louarn, Christophe Honoré, etc.). as well as touring theatres in France and abroad (Théâtres de l'Odéon, du Rond-Point, de Versailles, Théâtres Nationaux de Strasbourg, de Chaillot, de New-Delhi in India, etc.). He also creates lights for companies and directors in residence such as Chloé Dabert, Tommy Millot or Marc Lainé.

From childhood, in the early 90s, he began to express his musical sensibility through compositions on guitar and synthesizer. After three traumatic years of learning classical guitar in the municipal school of his village, it is as an autodidact that he will pursue his instrumental quest. The democratization of CAM (Computer Assisted Music) in the early 2000s confirmed this choice and opened an exciting path towards Do It Yourself and self-production.

In 2005, he launches his artistic project Nola's key which first takes the form of a website on which he gathers and broadcasts his musical compositions, as well as remixes and graphic works. This project progressively evolves towards the creation of live performances combining musical experiments, lighting concepts and video/scenographic works.


In 2006, he created a buzz among Placebo fans by publishing a mashup entitled Vivre son histoire ("Living our story") composed from instrumental samples of the band and an interview in French with singer Brian Molko. Noticed and broadcasted on RTL2 by the host Francis Zégut, the title reaches the band's ears and they decide to use it for the opening sequence of their concerts on the Meds tour.

Since 2007, he has been collaborating with various theatre and contemporary dance companies, including the company Le Pôle, for which he creates the soundtracks for stage creations, as well as the music for certain in situ performances that he performs live.

In September 2016, he resumes a Master's degree in Arts and Digital Technologies at the University of Rennes 2 during which he works under the direction of Bruno Bossis on questions of intermediality and hybridization in stage performance and the performing arts (field of digital performance studies).
Within the framework of this curriculum, he proposes in March 2018 a musical performance (Vis Insita - Principe) using an optical motion capture device to control sound and light through movement. This project will give rise to a publication for the NIME (New Interface for Musical Expression) conference that he will present in June 2019 in Porto Alegre, Brazil.

In spring 2019, he creates the association EGZOA based in Lorient (France, 56) in order to continue this work, to carry the Vis Insita project, and to allow in a general way the creation, the promotion and the diffusion of his artistic projects.

© 2020 Nicolas Bazoge
All rights reserved
Capture.JPG

Œuvrons ensemble !

 

Après environ vingt ans d'activités dans le domaine de la lumière auprès de compagnies de théâtre, de danse et d'ensembles musicaux, j'explore dorénavant les possibilités d'interconnexion des disciplines et des technologies au sein de propositions transversales, aussi bien dans le cadre de collaborations avec d'autres artistes et compagnies qu'avec mon propre projet Nola's key.

N'hésitez pas à me contacter pour me faire part de vos projets, je me ferai un plaisir de partager avec vous ma sensibilité artistique ainsi qu'une combinaison singulière de connaissances techniques acquises patiemment et passionnément au fil des années, des rencontres et des expériences.

                                                                                                Au plaisir !

                                                                                                Nicolas

CRÉATIONS LUMIÈRE

New Nola's key.png

Bio courte

Nicolas Bazoge est créateur et artiste intermedia.

En parallèle de ses collaborations dans les arts vivants en tant qu'artiste visuel et concepteur d'éclairage et de scénographies lumineuses, il développe au sein de Nola's key ses propres projets artistiques dans le domaine de la performance numérique.


Ses recherches s’intéressent principalement aux questions d'hybridation dans des contextes de représentations scéniques technologiquement médiatisée. Ses activités se consacrent à la création d'expériences immersives et semi-improvisées visant à favoriser chez le spectateur une écoute sensible, contemplative et introspective du sonore par le biais de dispositifs développés spécifiquement et basés sur des technologies telles que la motion capture, le live sampling ou le pixel mapping.

Bio longue

Diplômé en 2004 de l'Institut Supérieur des Techniques du Spectacle (ISTS) à Avignon, Nicolas intègre l’année suivante l’équipe du Centre Dramatique National de Bretagne à Lorient où il exerce pendant 12 ans en tant que régisseur et assistant lumière auprès de nombreux·ses éclairagistes et metteur·e·s en scène (Éric Vigner, Arthur Nauziciel, Madeleine Louarn, Christophe Honoré, etc.) ainsi qu’en tournée dans des théâtres en France ou à l’étranger (Théâtres de l’Odéon, du Rond-Point, de Versailles, Théâtres Nationaux de Strasbourg, de Chaillot, de New-Delhi en Inde, etc.). Il crée également les lumières pour des compagnies et metteur·e·s en scène en résidence tel·le·s que Chloé Dabert, Tommy Millot ou Marc Lainé.

Dès l'enfance, au début des années 90, il commence à exprimer sa sensibilité musicale par le biais de compositions à la guitare et au synthétiseur. Après trois années traumatisantes d’apprentissage de la guitare classique dans l’école municipale de son village, c’est en autodidacte qu’il poursuivra sa quête instrumentale. La démocratisation de la MAO (Musique Assistée par Ordinateur) au début des années 2000 conforte ce choix et lui ouvre alors une voie passionnante vers le Do It Yourself et l’autoproduction.

En 2005, il lance son projet artistique Nola’s key qui prend tout d’abord la forme d’un site internet sur lequel il regroupe et diffuse ses premières productions musicales, ainsi que des remixes et des travaux graphiques. Ce projet évolue progressivement vers la création de performances live combinant expérimentations musicales, concepts lumière et travaux vidéo/scénographiques.


En 2006, il crée l'engouement parmi les fans de Placebo en publiant un mashup intitulé Vivre son histoire composé à partir de samples instrumentaux du groupe et de samples vocaux extraits d’une interview en français du chanteur Brian Molko. Remarqué et diffusé sur RTL2 par l’animateur Francis Zégut, le titre parvient aux oreilles du groupe qui décide de l’utiliser pour la séquence d’ouverture de leurs concerts sur la tournée Meds.

Depuis 2007, il collabore avec diverses compagnies de théâtre et de danse contemporaine dont la compagnie lorientaise le Pôle pour lesquelles il crée les bandes son pour des créations plateaux, ainsi que la musique pour des performances in situ qu'il interprète en live.

En septembre 2016, il reprend un cursus universitaire en master Arts et Technologies Numériques à l’Université Rennes 2 durant lequel il travaille sous la direction de Bruno Bossis sur les questions d'intermédialité et d'hybridation dans la performance scénique et les arts vivants (domaine des digital performance studies).
Dans le cadre de ce cursus, il propose en mars 2018 la performance musicale Vis Insita (Principe) mettant un œuvre un dispositif de motion capture optique pour contrôler le son et la lumière grâce au mouvement. Ce projet donne lieu à une publication pour la conférence NIME (New Interface for Musical Expression) qu’il présente sur place en juin 2019 à Porto Alegre au Brésil.

Au printemps 2019, il crée l’association EGZOA basée à Lorient (56) afin de poursuivre ces travaux, de porter le projet Vis Insita, et de permettre d’une manière générale la création, la promotion et la diffusion de ses projets artistiques.

© 2020 Nicolas Bazoge
Tous droits réservés
Capture.JPG