Nicolas Bazoge

Nicolas Bazoge is an intermedia designer and performer.

His research focuses on issues of transdisciplinarity and hybridization in the context of stage performance.
His activities are dedicated to the creation of immersive and semi-improvised experiences aimed at promoting a multisensory and introspective listening to music through original visual and scenographic devices.

In parallel with the Nola's key project and his artistic creations within his association EGZOA, he regularly collaborates with professional theater, dance and music companies as a light designer, visual artist and light scenographer.

Biography

After graduating in 2004 from the Institut Supérieur des Techniques du Spectacle (ISTS) in Avignon, Nicolas joined the following year the team of the Centre Dramatique National de Bretagne in Lorient where he worked for 12 years as a lighting director and lighting assistant for numerous directors (Éric Vigner, Arthur Nauziciel, Madeleine Louarn, Christophe Honoré, etc.). as well as touring theatres in France and abroad (Théâtres de l'Odéon, du Rond-Point, de Versailles, Théâtres Nationaux de Strasbourg, de Chaillot, de New-Delhi in India, etc.). He also creates lights for companies and directors in residence such as Chloé Dabert, Tommy Millot or Marc Lainé.

 

From childhood, in the early 90s, he began to express his musical sensibility through compositions on guitar and synthesizer. After three traumatic years of learning classical guitar in the municipal school of his village, it is as an autodidact that he will pursue his instrumental quest. The democratization of CAM (Computer Assisted Music) in the early 2000s confirmed this choice and opened an exciting path towards DIY and self-production.

 

In 2005, he launches his artistic project Nola's key which first takes the form of a website on which he gathers and broadcasts his musical compositions, as well as remixes and graphic works. This project progressively evolves towards the creation of live performances combining musical experiments, lighting concepts and video/scenographic works.

 

In 2006, he created a buzz among Placebo fans by publishing a mashup entitled Vivre son histoire ("Living our story") composed from instrumental samples of the band and an interview in French with singer Brian Molko. Noticed and broadcasted on RTL2 by the host Francis Zégut, the title reaches the band's ears and they decide to use it for the opening sequence of their concerts on the Meds tour.

 

Since 2007, he has been collaborating with various theatre and contemporary dance companies, including the company Le Pôle, for which he creates the soundtracks for stage creations, as well as the music for certain in situ performances that he performs live.

 

In September 2016, he resumes a Master's degree in Arts and Digital Technologies at the University of Rennes 2 during which he works under the direction of Bruno Bossis on questions of intermediality and hybridization in stage performance and the performing arts (field of digital performance studies).

 

Within the framework of this curriculum, he proposes in March 2018 a musical performance (Vis Insita - Principe) using an optical motion capture device to control sound and light through movement. This project will give rise to a publication for the NIME (New Interface for Musical Expression) conference that he will present in June 2019 in Porto Alegre, Brazil.

 

In spring 2019, he creates the association EGZOA based in Lorient (France, 56) in order to continue this work, to carry the Vis Insita project, and to allow in a general way the creation, the promotion and the diffusion of his artistic projects.

> Professional collaborations

> Resume

 

NOLA'S KEY ?

Nola's key is an intermedia project, both visual and musical, created in 2005 by Nicolas Bazoge.

It initially took the form of an animated website gathering original studio compositions, remixes and graphic works.

It gradually evolved into performances combining live music, lighting concept and video/scenographic work.

The heart of the project lies in a personal relationship between the performing arts and technologies in order to encourage the emergence of singular forms capable of arousing in the spectator a deep, attentive and contemplative listening of the music.

Noticed in 2006 by the rock band Placebo which used the mashup Vivre son histoire for the opening sequence of their concerts on the Meds tour, Nola's key continued its journey through its own musical landscapes, in a desire to combine the accessibility of pop, the independent spirit of rock and the infinite creative perspectives of electronics and digital.

Beyond the intrinsic possibilities of new technologies, the challenge for Nicolas lies in the encounter (physical or mental) with the spectator or listener in the heart of an extra-ordinary universe, proper to introspection and self-questioning.

It is with a total freedom, independently of the confining notions of musical genres artistic disciplines, that

Nola's key draws its substance.

An enigmatic, dark and cinematographic universe, that only Nola has the key to.

 

Main dates

2020

         Vis Insita - Musical, visual and kinetic performance

2019

Creation of the association EGZOA

     

2018

Vis Insita (Principe) - Musical, visual and kinetic performance

2016

../MUTE  (with video mapping et scenography)

2015

e-Vox - Musical performance and participatory verbal experimentation

2014

../MUTE  - Multi-instrumental performance alone on stage

2012

Wondergen - Autoproduced album

2010

Insides - First live concept of Nola's key

2008

Metting with Katell Hartereau and Léonard Rainis from the contemporary dance company Le pôle.

Composition of soundtracks and live performances

2006

Vivre son histoire - Mashup used by the rock band Placebo for the openning sequence of their concerts on the Meds tour.

2005

Creation of Nola's Key

Realization of an animated website now inaccessible following the stop in December 2020 of the development of the Adobe Flash plugin. Yet this was the key...

© 2012 - 2021 Nola's key

All rights reserved

copyrightfrance-logo9.gif

Nicolas Bazoge

Nicolas Bazoge est créateur intermédia et performeur.

Ses recherches s’intéressent principalement aux questions de transdisciplinarité et d'hybridation dans le contexte de la représentation scénique.
Ses activités se consacrent à la création d'expériences immersives et semi-improvisées visant à favoriser une écoute multisensorielle et introspective de la musique par le biais de dispositifs visuels et scénographiques originaux.

En parallèle du projet Nola's key et de ses créations artistiques au sein de son association EGZOA, il collabore régulièrement avec des compagnies professionnelles de théâtre, danse et musique en tant que créateur lumière, artiste visuel et concepteur de scénographies lumineuses.

Biographie

Diplômé en 2004 de l'Institut Supérieur des Techniques du Spectacle (ISTS) à Avignon, Nicolas Bazoge intègre l’année suivante l’équipe du Centre Dramatique National de Bretagne à Lorient où il exerce pendant 12 ans en tant que régisseur et créateur lumière auprès de nombreux éclairagistes et metteurs en scène (Éric Vigner, Arthur Nauziciel, Madeleine Louarn, Christophe Honoré, etc.) ainsi qu’en tournée dans des théâtres en France ou à l’étranger (Théâtres de l’Odéon, du Rond-Point, de Versailles, Théâtres Nationaux de Strasbourg, de Chaillot, de New-Delhi en Inde, etc.). Il crée les lumières pour des compagnies et metteurs en scène en résidence tels que Marc Lainé, Chloé Dabert ou Tommy Millot.

Dès l'enfance, au début des années 90, il commence à exprimer sa sensibilité musicale par le biais de compositions à la guitare et au synthétiseur. Après quatre années traumatisantes d’apprentissage de la guitare classique dans l’école municipale de son village natal, c’est en autodidacte qu’il décide de poursuivre sa quête instrumentale. La démocratisation de la MAO (Musique Assistée par Ordinateur) au début des années 2000 le confortera dans ce choix et lui ouvrira alors une voie passionnante vers le Do It Yourself et l’autoproduction.

En 2005, il lance son projet artistique Nola’s key qui prend tout d’abord la forme d’un site internet animé sur lequel il regroupe et diffuse ses compositions musicales, ainsi que des remixes et des travaux graphiques. Ce projet évolue progressivement vers la création de performances live combinant expérimentations musicales, concepts lumière et travaux vidéo/scénographiques.


En 2006, il crée l'engouement parmi les fans de Placebo en publiant un mashup intitulé Vivre son histoire composé à partir de samples instrumentaux du groupe et d’une interview en français du chanteur Brian Molko. Remarqué et diffusé sur RTL2 par l’animateur Francis Zégut, le titre parvient aux oreilles du groupe qui décide de l’utiliser pour la séquence d’ouverture de leurs concerts sur la tournée Meds.

A partir de 2007, il collabore avec diverses compagnies de théâtre et de danse contemporaine dont la compagnie lorientaise le Pôle pour lesquelles il crée les bandes son pour des créations plateaux, ainsi que la musique pour des performances in situ qu'il interprète en live.

En septembre 2016, il reprend un cursus universitaire en master Arts et Technologies Numériques à l’Université Rennes 2 durant lequel il travaille sous la direction de Bruno Bossis sur les questions d'intermédialité et d'hybridation dans la performance scénique et les arts vivants (domaine des digital performance studies).
Dans le cadre de ce cursus, il propose en mars 2018 une performance musicale mettant un œuvre un dispositif inédit de motion capture pour contrôler le son et la lumière grâce au mouvement. Ce projet donne lieu à une publication scientifique pour la conférence NIME (New Interface for Musical Expression) qu’il présente sur place en juin 2019 à Porto Alegre au Brésil.

Au printemps 2019, il crée l’association EGZOA basée à Lorient (56) afin de poursuivre ces travaux, de porter le projet Vis Insita, et de permettre d’une manière générale la création, la promotion et la diffusion de ses projets artistiques.

 

NOLA'S KEY ?

Nola's key est un projet intermédia, à la croisée de la musique et des arts visuels, créé en 2005 par Nicolas Bazoge.

Il prit pour forme initiale un site web animé regroupant des compositions musicales, des remixes et des travaux graphiques (photos, fractales, animations), puis évolua progressivement vers le live avec la création de performances "seul en scène" visant à expérimenter des moyens originaux d'interpréter la musique en live.

Le cœur du projet se situe dorénavant dans la mise en relation des arts vivants, des sciences et des

technologies afin de créer des formes artistiques hybrides en mesure de susciter chez le spectateur

une écoute contemplative et introspective de la musique.


Remarqué en 2006 par le groupe Placebo qui utilisa le mashup Vivre son histoire pour l'ouverture de ses

concerts durant la tournée Meds, Nola's key poursuivit son chemin de traverse dans des paysages polymorphes mêlant ses explorations électronumériques à l'universalité de la pop et l'indépendance du rock.

C'est à ce croisement, avec une liberté créative totale et indépendamment des notions de genres

musicaux ou de disciplines artistiques, que Nola's key puise sa substance.


Un univers énigmatique, sombre et cinématographique dont seule Nola a la clé.

 

Dates clés

2020

         Vis Insita - Performance musicale, visuelle et cinétique

2019

         Création de l'association EGZOA pour porter et diffuser les projets de          Nola's key.

2018

Vis Insita (Principe) - Performance musicale et lumino-cinétique

2016

../MUTE  (reprise avec video mapping et scénographie)

2015

e-Vox - Performance musicale et expérimentation verbale participative

2014

../MUTE  - Performance multi-instrumentale seul en scène

2012

Wondergen - Album autoproduit de Nola's key

2010

Insides - Premier dispositif live de Nola's key

2008

Rencontre avec Katell Hartereau et Léonard Rainis de la compagnie de danse contemporaine Le pôle.

Composition de bandes son et performances live

2006

Vivre son histoire - Mashup utilisé par le groupe de rock Placebo pour l'ouverture de leurs concerts sur la tournée Meds

2005

Création de Nola's Key

Réalisation d'un site internet animé désormais inaccessible suite à l'arrêt en décembre 2020 du développement du plugin Adobe Flash. Pourtant là était la clé.

© 2012 - 2021 Nola's key

Tous droits réservés

copyrightfrance-logo9.gif